Divorce is an emotional process, but it is also a legal process. To legally end a marriage in Kentucky, individuals must meet certain requirements and fulfill specific conditions. This post will introduce some of the important steps that individuals must complete in order to legally end their unions, but as with all the posts on this blog, no part of this post should be used as legal advice. A dedicated family law attorney can provide their client with all the answers they need about their specific divorce case.
Grounds for divorce
Individuals who wish to divorce must provide legal bases in their pleadings to do so. Kentucky is a-no fault divorce state, so those pursuing divorce may plead that their marriages are irretrievably broken. A marriage that is irretrievably broken cannot be repaired.
Kentucky courts are available to Kentucky residents for divorce. To avail one’s self to the state’s courts for divorce, a person or their spouse must have lived in Kentucky for at least 180 days before the divorce filing. They may be a resident or be stationed at a military base in the state to qualify.
Filing for divorce in Kentucky requires a nominal fee. Though differences between counties may exist, the fee is generally $113. Other costs may be associated with divorce that individuals can discuss with their attorneys.
Waiting period of 60 days
Before a Kentucky divorce may be finalized, the parties to the divorce must live apart, or live together without sexual relations, for at least 60 days. The 60-day period gives individuals time to reconcile before a final divorce decree is entered.
There are many other important pieces of information that individuals should understand before filing for divorce. Their attorneys can advise them of their rights and options. Divorce is a legal process that requires attention to detail, and a dedicated attorney can smooth out the process for a person who is ready to end their marriage.